Blessings

I haven’t written for my blog since February.  All the usual excuses, of course – too busy.  The post I was going to write the weekend that I skipped it was going to be about friends and how blessed I am, so I think I’ll start there.

In February, I was lucky enough to have all but one of my bridesmaids here with me to spend the weekend and help me find a dress.  I had already had one dress appointment and I set up two more wondering how we were all going to get together again if I didn’t find The One. I needn’t have worried.  We got to spend time together, sing, watch Disney movies, go out to eat, enjoy the Asian Celebration, walk through my chosen venue, and go to two different dress boutiques.  I ended up finding the dress in the last place and it was the last dress I tried on, but this story isn’t really about the dress it’s about the friends.

I got the pleasure of introducing everyone to two of my most important local friends and my soon-to-be Mother-in-law.  I remember looking around at everyone and thinking, these people are all very different and yet…so the same.  These are my people.  Each of these women are bright, caring, strong and bonded through the love I have for all of them.  I was never so happy to have all of my friends in one place. I just wish my fifth bridesmaid could have been there and it would have been perfect.  It’s amazing to me, when I think of each of my friends and consider how long I’ve known them, what we’ve been through together and realize how strong our bond is.  I am well and truly blessed.

***

After their visit I grew sick and was sick for about 4 weeks, so that’s my excuse for the rest of the not-writing.  Lame, but there it is.  My time since being sick has been spent trying to get my house back into some semblance of order.  Spring cleaning has slowly begun and is starting with organization first.  It helps that my Dad is actually moving out here to live with us for a little while before he gets into his own place.  It gave us an excuse to get a move on cleaning up.  In fact, he’s making the move today.

For years I’ve worried that my dad was too far away for me to take care of him when he gets around to needing it and I’ve often been upset that when the time comes I won’t be able to step up the way I need to.  Even though it’s my burden, since I was the one that moved away from home, I couldn’t be more thrilled that I convinced him to come out here.  So my weekends have been a flurry of getting the garage organized for a bit of extra storage, getting the spare bedroom turned more into a “Dad bedroom”, getting common living space organized in a way that will allow for a third person.  I’m eager for his arrival this evening!

***

In other news, my Pagan studies have taken a bit of a back-burner as I was too sick to properly study.  I’m proud to have finished the first chapter of my book, however, and now need to take the test I created.  If anyone here is studying the same book, let me know and if you’re interested, I will post the test questions for you.  I was a little bummed that I didn’t adequately celebrate the Spring Equinox yesterday. Being that I didn’t have the tools to celebrate by myself, or the energy to go celebrate with other people, I figured I’d simply do my best to enjoy and be thankful for nature as I walked the dog.  That ended in being thankful I didn’t scrape my face along the pavement along with the rest of my body as I fell, but that’s okay, too.  Nothing like appreciating what you have when some of it is broken and needs healing.  I also have a strong appreciation for gravity and how it works.  It’s funny how we don’t really think of the things that go on in our bodies and in our world on a daily basis that just happen naturally – our hearts beating, breathing, our cells doing their jobs, moving, staying on the ground as we move, the world spinning around day in and day out just doing what it does best.

Anyway, I plan to take the test, and then retake it until I get all the answers correct.  Looking over it I realize I don’t quite remember everything and that’s okay.  That’s why it’s difficult to learn a new subject.  You don’t get it all just reading it once – you have to study it.  And it’s been a long time since I’ve studied much of anything.  Self-study is harder because the only person you have to impress is yourself.  I was always driven by recognition from my teachers/superiors/bosses/etc. so it was easier for me to excel when I had someone I wanted to impress.  I suppose this means I should set up a reward system for myself.  “You got an A on your self-created, self-imposed test! You can go buy yourself a treat!”  Of course, to make that mean anything that means I have to stop buying myself treats whenever I want to on a normal basis.  Hmmm.  That’s a thought.  I’ll keep you posted on how my studies progress.

***

Other than that, I haven’t been up to much.  Work and life-all of it busy.  I had a dream last night that someone gifted me a “Writer’s Workshop” box that came from Barnes & Noble.  I think it was a hint that I need to get back into writing, as I have that very same Writer’s Workshop box waiting for me to open it on my bookshelf and get started.  That will be my goal this weekend.  As I write this I am reminded of my new year’s post to not worry about it if you don’t keep up with your goals (in this case, to post a blog update once a week), and to just get back on the horse as soon as you can and keep trying.  This is me keeping on keeping on. 🙂

“You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.”  – Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

