Puppy Love

I currently have four drafts just sitting in my draft box waiting for my attention, but I can’t seem to focus on them.  This isn’t surprising considering they’ve been in there for months and have received the exact same amount of attention all year.  I could blame it on the weather, or feeling tired, or any number of things but honestly I think it’s just that I feel so out of practice.  So here I am, practicing.  Doing myself a favor and sticking to my new resolution.  Not half bad.

We’re currently covered in snow and ice, which doesn’t happen very often around here, and it’s making everything cold and miserable.  Despite that, I’ve forced myself to go outside and take the dog out, which has made me feel a great sense of accomplishment (not to mention I feel like a pretty good dog mom).  Today I braved the roads-which probably wasn’t really the best choice-to take him to the park.  We decided not to go yesterday given the weather and he was going a little house-crazy despite having run around and played in the back yard.

I don’t know if I ever officially mentioned in my blogspace that I got a dog.  Back in July we picked up the most adorable Australian shepherd puppy and he has been a joy and a trial ever since. He came with the name Jax (Jackson), which we decided to keep.  Jackson Severus. In retrospect, given his personality, I really think we ought to have named him Draco.

I have never had a puppy as an adult and I was woefully unprepared for the amount of time and energy I had to put into him.  There were days, when we first got him, that I thought I’d made one of the biggest mistakes of my life.  I didn’t know what I was doing – clearly all the puppies I’d had growing up were taken care of by my parents far more than I realized. Oops.  But we got through the awful puppy-biting-your-hands-off phase and have been steadily working on a lot of different training techniques that he is in need of, and I couldn’t be happier.  Well, that might be a slight fib.  I probably could be a little happier, but that’s really more a me-problem than the dog.  But really the point of that was that he’s turning out to be a great dog.

It’s been such an amazing joy to watch him grow and experience the world around him.  There are days he doesn’t listen well at all and then other days when he does all the things I’ve been training him to do and I wonder when he got so good at it.  He’s protective (sometimes to a fault), and so, so loving.

So, really, he’s partially the reason that I dropped off of writing so much.  When we first got him he took up nearly every waking moment of my time.  Now that he’s older it’s been easier to find time to do some of the things I enjoy.  I’ve been able to get back into playing video games, reading, writing.  All that’s left now is to find time to, or find a person that can, edit for us so Kiesha and I can get our YouTube channel off the ground.  All in good time.  I have a feeling this year is going to be a full year of craziness and adventure and I’m looking forward to what each day will bring me.

Huh. Turns out I had more to say than I thought I did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

