Wrapping up November

November always seems to be the month that kicks off the “crazy”.  In previous years it was because I worked in retail and November was just when it started to get busier and busier – that frenzied feel of too little time, too many things to buy that brings the masses out to the stores.

This year should have been a little different, but even not being in retail my job has had me busier than I’ve ever been.  I enjoy the challenge and I’ve always preferred staying busy, but it’s definitely been difficult to keep up with my brain.  It has made a huge difference in my NaNo performance this year.  I’ve come to terms with that and am actually okay with not doing as well as I’d hoped, though.  By the end of today I will have not quite made it to 15K words, but I’ve made a great start and plan to continue it through the month of December as well until the thing is finished.  I’m still excited about my idea, and even more excited now that I don’t have these word goals hanging over my head because I have some things I actually need to research.

The other thing that has kept me busy this month was the release of the final installment of the Hunger Games movies – Mockingjay Part 2.  All I can say is that I was nearly beside myself after it ended, even knowing everything that was going to happen.  And even though I’ve got several books I’m currently reading (or should be reading, anyway) everything got put on hold so that I could reread the series again.  I plan to see the movie a second time and if I do, I’ll write a more in-depth review of it.  For anyone that likes the series, though, it’s a definite recommend.  Just bring tissues if you’re a cryer like me.

Thanksgiving was an awesome experience for me this year.  In previous years, we have hosted at our house for either Thanksgiving or Christmas, but it was always our roommate, Ellen, doing the bulk of the cooking (she’s an amazing cook).  This was the first year that I did most of it by myself.  All of the main foods, anyway.  Others were responsible for bringing the pies, the vegetables, the salads but I made the Turkey, the potatoes, the sweet potatoes, the stuffing, the cranberry sauce and all of the morning munchie snacks.  For a first time hostess, I found myself surprised and proud that everything was ready right on time, right as I said it would be ready.  The fact that I had my mom there helped a lot with my confidence, too.

For the first time in the almost 10 years I’ve lived away from home, my Mother came to visit me.  I got to spend three full days with her, her boyfriend, and my 14 year old sister.  A lot of times, people will post on Facebook what they’re thankful for through the month of November.  I am most thankful for this.  I can’t really find the words to describe the warmth I feel that they came out here to visit, what it meant to me to have my mom here to see me in my element.  To have her see my house and understand my life a little better.  Especially with her fighting through this third round of cancer, I worry that my time with her is very limited and so having this meant the world to me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

