Adjusting to New Home Life

I’m nearing the end of my second week living with Beau again, and things are going very well.  There are days where it’s still really weird.  It’s not quite the same home it was before, because we had two roommates that were pretty much always there.  There was always someone to talk to, some presence in the house that was warm and helped keep it home.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s no less a home without them and I’m actually very glad for the bits of alone time I get now.  It’s just very different and two weeks hasn’t been quite long enough to adjust to it.

I have, however, adjusted to sleeping alone at night.  I don’t wake up frequently scared that someone is around the corner waiting to murder me.  If the cat would just leave me alone to sleep after 3 AM, I think I’d have it made!  And I have to say I am not missing apartment life, even though I miss regular talks with my previous roommate.  The neighborhood here at the house isn’t the classiest, but it’s worlds quieter than the apartment I was in.  It’s so nice not hearing babies cry constantly, or couples screaming at each other, or the same couple screaming at their kids to stop screaming as though baffled at their behavior and where it came from.

It’s also nice not living right next to the train tracks.  I’m still close enough to a train that I can hear it, but it’s not so close that I can’t hear the television, or that the windows rattle.  I can enjoy it more this way.  And, of course, not living on a main road is pretty great, too.    I no longer have to hear squealing tires taking curves too fast and wonder if I’m going to have to run down and perform life saving first aid. Instead, the hum of cars from the freeway is distant and soothing.

There is a lot to be happy about, and I feel settled and content in a way I haven’t for some time.  Still, it’s a very strange adjustment.  My old roommates brought us a house re-warming gift (since Beau and I have technically lived together before and in this very house, no less), which was full of some fall decorations and a very sweet card that made my heart happy.  I’ve been so busy lately that I’ve not been able to find the energy to put theirs together yet, so I’m hoping I’ll get to do that today after work (assuming I don’t have to pull overtime).

Speaking of overtime, work has been incredibly busy lately.  In fact, I’ve just been handed a couple of projects that provide me a good learning opportunity, but that have also increased my stress levels significantly.  Enough that when I tried to go to sleep last night, tired as I was, my thoughts kept going to work instead.  Usually that only happens the night before the first day of a new job.  I suppose in a way a new task is like a new job, though.  Well, regardless of stress, I know I’ll be able to handle it.  And I’ve set aside a good plan of attack for dealing with it today.  I’m going to focus in chunks of time on only 4 things today.  I’m going to ensure I take my breaks as I need them and use those break times to stay “unplugged”.  And I’m only going to have my email up during certain times of the day, instead of keeping it open all day like I usually do.  There’s no sense in letting myself be constantly distracted when I have something that very seriously needs my focus.  Oh yeah, and I’m going to keep my headphones in and on the most zen music I can find.

I will be zen.

All things told, though, I don’t feel so bad about it today.  Things usually look more clear after a good night’s rest and with a plan of action I feel like it’ll be fine.  I do tend to wax a little dramatic whenever I’m faced with anything new and unexpected.

I’m hoping to get a little more writing in this weekend and over the next week.  I’ve been so busy and so tired that it’s been very difficult to get back in the groove.  It doesn’t help that it takes me longer to get into work, so waking up at the same time as I did at the apartment doesn’t give me the same relaxing morning as it used to.  And today marks the first day of October, which means I need to get started on outlining some ideas for NaNoWriMo.  This year’s going to be an interesting challenge, what with family coming for the holidays.  Is anyone else planning on signing up for NaNo this year?  If you are, best of luck!  If you haven’t heard of it, you can check out their website here.

Leave a Reply

